hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

North West Ireland

A Historic Tour of North West Ireland
Carrowmore Megalithic Cemetery, Co Sligo

A Historic Tour of North West Ireland
Glenveagh, Co Donegal

North West Ireland


The North West region is made up of the following counties - Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Monaghan, Sligo where a great welcome, ceol agus craic ( music and fun) and life at an easier pace awaits you.

The beauty of the North West is not just what the eye can behold, but what the heart can perceive. The stunning scenery is matched by the genuine warmth and friendiness of the people. One truly can forget the cares of modern life by escaping to one or all of the five counties that comprise the North West Region.

The spectacular scenery and rich heritage of culture provide every variety of recreational activity from the arduous to the languorous - watercolour painting to mountaineering, golfing on pefect fairways to surfing the Atlantic rollers; horse riding in bracing winds to lazing in seaweed.

The North West boasts of many ‘hidden gems’ to be explored.

The Region offers endless opportunities to immerse yourself in nature, culture and history.

A fact unknown to many is that the North West is also home to a number of magnificent monuments of which are older than the pyramids! – A fascinating illustration of the engineering genius of our pre-historic ancestors.

With the wide array of visitor attractions to choose from there is something for everyone…

More information?
North West Tourism
Temple Street
Tel: +353 (0)71 9161201
Fax: +353 (0)71 9161201

Ireland Heritage links

County Carlow | Dublin | East Coast and Midlands | HISTORIC IRELAND | Ireland West | North West Ireland | OPW Heritage Card | Shannon, Bunratty Castle and Folk Park | South East Ireland | South West Ireland | TOURISM IRELAND |

Republic of Ireland Heritage links

County Kerry Killarney |

County Information

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |