hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

County Limerick, Republic of Ireland

Glin Castle
Glin Castle

The county of Limerick is situated in Irelands mid to south west with the counties of Clare, Tipperary, Cork and Kerry on its borders.

The county is flat and fertile in the east and becomes quite mountainous in the west where it meets Kerry in the south west.

Whilst Limerick is well worth a visit in its own right, it also provides a marvellous base for touring the ever popular south west of Ireland.

The county town of Limerick stands on the River Rannon where the earliest recorded settlers were the Vikings in the 9th century after which The Normans redesigned the city in the 12th century.

Historic attractions and heritage sites in the area include:- The Hunt Museum, Glin Castle, Foynes Museum, Lough Gur Stone Age Centre, Curraghmore Forest Park, The Bishops Palace

Famous sons of Limerick include the late actor Richard Harris, entrepreneur and horse race owner, JP McManus and TV Presenter, Terry Wogan.

Where to stay and things to do in County Limerick

Hotels | Bed and Breakfast | Places to Visit | Museums and Art Galleries | Castles | Heritage Centres | Tourist Information Centres | County Limerick Towns

Selected County Limerick hotels - Please Refresh for another random Hotel list

Banqueting Hall, Newcastlewest
Hillcrest Country Home, Adare
Clarion Hotel Limerick, Limerick
Radisson SAS Hotel Limerick, Limerick
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, Limerick
Thomond Village, Limerick
Absolute Hotel com, Limerick
South Court Hotel, Limerick
Radisson SAS Limerick, Limerick
Perys Best Western, Limerick

Click for More hotels in County Limerick

Click For List of all Ireland Counties

Explore County Limerick Towns

Adare | Bruree | Castleconnell | Drumcollogher | Glin | Limerick | Limerick City | Newcastlewest | Rathkeale |

County Limerick Tourist Information Centres

Adare Tourist Information Centre
Adare Heritage Centre,
Main Street, Adare
County Limerick
Tel: +44 (0) 61 396255

Limerick City Tourist Information Centre
Arthurís Quay,
County Limerick
Tel: +44 (0) 61 317522

County Links

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |