hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

County Carlow, Republic of Ireland

Dolmens, Brown Hill Dolmen, County Carlow
Dolmens, Brown Hill Dolmen, County Carlow

County Carlow is situated in the South East of Ireland, with County Wicklow and County Wexford to the East, County Kildare to the North and County Laois and County Kildare to the West.

Carlow is also one of Ireland’s smallest counties, is bordered by the scenic Blackstairs Mountains to the east. The fertile limestone land of the Barrow Valley and the Killeshin Hills lie in the west of Carlow.

The county’s most prominent feature is the 5000-year-old granite formation known as Browne’s Hill Dolmen. It's believed to have the largest capstone in Europe, weighing a colossal 100 tonnes.

Carlow Town, Borris and Tullow, County Carlow

Located on the banks of the River Barrow, Carlow town is a bustling market centre serving a large rural area. One of the most impressive pieces of architecture in the town has a very interesting background; it is believed that the courthouse on Carlow Street, modelled on the Parthenon in Athens, was originally meant for Cork, but the plans for the two buildings became mixed up.

Other towns worth seeing include the Georgian village of Borris, and the small angling town of Tullow on the River Slaney.

Historic attractions in the county include Carlow Castle, Dolmens, Castletown Castle, Clonegal Castle, The Black castle at Leighlinbridge, Rathnageeragh Castle, Ballymoon Castle, Leighlinbridge Castle, Ballyloughan Castle, Clonmore Castle And High Crosses.

Where to stay and things to do in County Carlow

Hotels | Places to Visit | Castles | Tourist Information Centres | County Carlow Towns

Selected County Carlow hotels - Please Refresh for another random Hotel list

Click for More hotels in County Carlow

Click For List of all Ireland Counties

Explore County Carlow Towns

Carlow | Carlow Town | Gort | Tullow |

County Links

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |